Something’s about to change.

I have a job interview. I don’t know how it happened, but it doesn’t matter. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. I may get out of this dead end company after all. The interview is with a big healthcare ad agency in the city. I have written one healthcare brochure in my time. But, I managed to talk my way in the door. Now I just have to get through to the creative people. I’m definitely at a disadvantage with my lack of experience, so my expectations are low. Still, I’m in!

First, I needed the right suit. I ran to the store last night desperately hoping to find something NOT ultra-conservative. I’m a creative person for god’s sake. And let me tell you, I scored big! I’m going to talk fashion now, so if you’re not interested, skip ahead. I found a Jones New York black blazer normally priced at $200 on sale for $25! I had to ask the little Indian woman who was helping me to repeat herself three times. She must have said $125, right? Nope. I couldn’t believe my luck. Then I thought, it must be a leftover from the winter. Nope. All season. Then, she helped me find the right pants. Of course, all the black pants were the wrong color. Finally, she found them. In my size! And it all fit perfectly. She asked me if this was the first suit I found. Yep. Then, she said, as if she already knew, “You’re going to get this job.” I felt like she had some infinite Indian spiritual wisdom and maybe she’s right! Plus, I had a coupon for $25 off. So the jacket was free! My new lucky jacket.

I’m ecstatic ECSTATIC at just the prospect of getting out of here. At the thought of being back at an ad agency with talented people in a fun, creative environment. And away from one of the most fucked up business environments I’ve ever been in. I know, I may not get this job. But the potential is motivating. If you’ve ever been stuck in a dead end job, you know what I’m talking about.

Something’s about to change.

Leave a comment