No time left in this small, small world.

I’ve been having a hard time keeping up with posting, between this blog and my other, now that I have a new job that actually makes me work. Damn it! Not that I’m complaining, entirely. The strange thing about having real work to do is that the day actually drags on. I don’t know how that has happened. At my other job, where I had absolutely nothing of interest to work on, except blogging and surfing the internet, the day flew by.

Anyway, since I’ve come to this new place, I am having the strangest small work experiences ever in my life. There are the mundane: Two people I worked with at other ad agencies are here. No big deal. That happens in Philly. And it’s good because I’m friends with them. On my first day, I rode up the elevator with someone I know I worked with, but can’t place him.  And, I keep seeing people who look oddly familiar. Although, I did figure out that one of them was someone I went to high school with almost 30 years ago! (Holy shit, I’m old!)  On my second day here, a guy that I worked with at my last job, showed up for an interview. What the hell? And yesterday, on my way to the train, I ran into an old neighbor who I haven’t seen since I moved a year ago. I made the train with a second to spare. All this small world shit is freaking me out! And then there’s the mind-blowing: As my writing partner are talking about his home renovations, I realize he’s renovating a house on my old block in the city–literally, across the street from my old house–and it just so happens to be the old woman who I had a special connection with and who recently passed away. I nearly cried when I figured it out. What are the odds of that!? Something weird is going on here.

So, did you catch that? That link I left for you? I tried to hide it, but I’m not that html-savvy. The way all this small world stuff is going, I’m sure we know each other from some past life. Let me know if you figure it out.

No time left in this small, small world.

Leave a comment