Work is in the way

Today is my 12th day at my new job and it’s getting in the way of my life. I have no time for anything other than work. I don’t mind so much except I feel bad that my husband is taking the brunt of it. He’s still dealing with the kids in the morning, but now he’s getting home early enough to let the nanny leave then getting the kids’ dinner ready. He’s handling it like a trooper, totally supportive. I know if things were switched, he probably wouldn’t feel bad. You know, it’s the way things should be I suppose. Where I’m really torn is when the happy hours pop up and I don’t go. I want to go. I really want to go. Bonding with my colleagues and all. But I don’t want to come home later than I already am, which really isn’t that late – 6ish, after 7 one night this week.

Anyway, I’m excited that this Saturday we’re going rock-climbing. We’re taking a class at a local rock climbing gym. It was my mother’s day gift in an effort to do more exciting things with my life. If I don’t break my neck I’ll be back to report on it. If my fingers are still working.

Work is in the way

Leave a comment